Size of County Board

The DeKalb County Board has 24 members. There is quite a range in Illinois and perhaps not always the way one would think. For example, Cook County has 17 District Commissioners, Winnebago 36. Sangamon County residents will vote next week on a non-binding resolution recommending reduction of its Board from 29 members to 15, a move that would save enough dough to hire a couple more Sheriff’s deputies.


3 thoughts on “Size of County Board”

  1. P.S. No comment on the dysfunctional Cook County Board, where folks can hire their friends and relatives, friends of relatives, relatives of friends, and of course, campaign donors.

Leave a Reply